top of page

The African Group

Message from the Chair

The Member States in the United Nations General Assembly are divided into various geographical groupings. These are the groupings through which elections are conducted into various UN bodies and agencies.


Africa is allocated 3 non-permanent members of the Security Council, 14 members on ECOSOC, 13 Members on the Human Rights Council and the President of the General Assembly in years ending 4 and 9. 


The Africa Group at the United Nations is made up of the 54 African Union Member States at the United Nations. The bloc coordinates its efforts on various topics, ranging from health and migration to issues of peace and security.


The group hold regular meetings to receive briefings from guests and UN officials and discuss on UN resolutions and topics so a common African position can be reached. 


The group is chaired by an Ambassador from a Member State, with the position rotating monthly. The African Union Observer Mission serves as a coordinating secretariat for the group by arranging meetings, supporting the Chair, and generally providing logistical and administrative assistance where necessary. 







 "Unity for sustainable development towards a bright tomorrow for Africa's Youth"

WhatsApp Image 2024-07-03 at 1.35.18 PM.jpeg

H.E. Ms. Tania Serafim Yvonne Romualdo

Ambassador and
Permanent Representative of the Republic of Cabo Verde to the United Nations

President of the African Group for the month of July 2024

bottom of page